

The Flamborough Chamber of Commerce (FCC) was honoured to host Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne (above, centre) at its annual Outstanding Business Achievement (OBA) awards gala at the Flamborough Hills Golf & Country Club. The annual gala 'honours and celebrates the very best in corporate excellence and community service' in Flamborough. After a meet-and-greet reception with the sold-out crowd, the new premier shared some thoughts about Ontario's future. She



then participated (above) in the first presentation of the evening – the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award to Sarah Powell (third from left) of Sarah Grace Photography. Joining Premier Wynne and Sarah for a photo after the presentation were (from left) Dragica Lebo (Youth Project Manager, Small Business Enterprise Centre – City of Hamilton), Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MPP – and Minister of Community and Social Services – Ted McMeekin, past recipients Nicole Martin (Talent Search Summer Camp) and Haley Luckanuck (Spoiled Rotten Pet Sitting & Dog Walking Inc.). Representing the FCC Board of Directors was (right) Teresa Luckanuck.

LEFT: The FCC awarded its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award to Tim Langford and posthumously to Wilf and Tom Langford (all of the former Langford Pharmacy). Pictured with Tim Langford (second from left) are (from left) FCC Treasurer Graham Flint (FORCE - Friends of Rural Communities and the Environment), Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MP David Sweet and FCC President Jason Small (Community Church).



For years, Roger Wilson (third from left) – a true unsung hero – could be seen in Waterdown volunteering his time picking up garbage. The FCC wanted to 'recognize, honour and celebrate' his contributions and awarded him the Community Service by an Individual Award at this year's Outstanding Business Achievement (OBA) awards gala. Pictured with Roger and his wife Jean are (from left) Norm Read of Beckett Lowden Read (a recipient last year), Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MP David Sweet and Patty and Max DiFelice of Waterdown Collision (representing their son Dante who also won the award last year – but was representing Flamborough on a rep hockey team).





ABOVE: After investing some \$80 million in its Greensville plant, Rothsay was presented with the Flamborough Chamber of Commerce Green Award. The presentation was made by FCC Vice President Penny Gardiner (second from left) and Ward 14 Councillor Robert Pasuta (right). Accepting the award on behalf of Rothsay were (from left) Jared Fein, David Willison and Anne Tennier.

LEFT: Representing 'Flambor-ough's best kept secret,' President and CEO David Kruse (left) of Opta Minerals in Waterdown was awarded the Business Growth and Achievement Award by Mayor Bob Bratina and Greg Tremble (a member of the FCC Board of Directors and representing the OLG Slots at Flamboro Downs – a sponsor of the OBA gala). With facilities and offices around the globe, Opta Minerals is the only publicly-traded company with its head office in Flamborough.

- Photos courtesy of Wilf Arndt



Calling her 'the best thing that ever happened to the Flamborough Chamber of Commerce,' Secretary Ron Graham (right - Lafarge Canada) presented the FCC Service Award to former Treasurer Janet Barnard (second from left). Pictured with Janet and Ron are (from left) Publisher/Editor Mark Cripps of yourhamiltonbiz.com – a sponsor of the OBA gala – along with Janet and Tony Simeone of the Dutch Mill Country Market – last year's recipient.



ABOVE: Joyce Aitkin along with her sons Chris (second from left) and Paul accepted the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for husband and father James (Jim) Aitkin from the Flamborough Chamber of Commerce (FCC) at the 2013 Outstanding Business Achievement (OBA) awards gala at the Flamborough Hills Golf & Country Club. The award was presented by FCC President Jason Small (left) and Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MP David Sweet (right).

RIGHT: Scott Jarrett (second from left) of Boston Pizza accepted the Community Service by a Company Award presented by Ward IS Councillor Judi Partridge (left), Wendy Wasylowich of Flamboro Downs (a member of the FCC Board of Directors) and Peter Sanguineti representing last year's recipient, Lafarge Canada.

– Photos courtesy of Wilf Arndt





Executive Director Wilf Arndt (centre) of the Waterdown BIA (and also the official volunteer photographer of the FCC) was honoured for his beautification efforts in the former Village of Watedown with the Town of Flamborough Award. Joining in the presentation were Flamborough Councillors Judi Partridge (second from left) and Robert Pasuta (right) along with FCC Past President Hal Bushey (representing last year's recipient - the O Canada Rotary Ribfest) and Vice President Penny Gardiner (Economic Developers Association of Canada).



ABOVE: In recognition of two years as president of the FCC Board of Directors, Hal Bushey (third from left) was presented with the President's Gavel Award by current President Jason Small (second from left). Joining Jason in the presentation were FCC Past Presidents (from left) Karen Hunt, Penny Gardiner, Tom Butterworth and Harold Ross. RIGHT: A new feature at this year's OBA gala was a 'reverse' draw (last ticket drawn is the winner) for a vacation at the prestigious River Rock Casino Resort in Vancouver courtesy of the Great Canadian Gaming Company (owners of Flamboro Downs) and Westjet Airlines. The winner was Marinus (Ries) Dejager (left) of Opta Minerals, pictured with Wendy Wasylowich of the Great Canadian Gaming Corporation (and a member of the FCC Board of Directors) and FCC Executive Direc-tor Arend Kersten.



- Photos courtesy of Wilf Arndt



Sarah Powell of Sarah Grace Photography accepted the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the FCC at the OBA gala. Listening intently as she presented her acceptance speech were (from left) Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MPP – and Minister of Community and Social Services – Ted McMeekin, Ontario Premier – and Minister of Agriculture and Food – Kathleen Wynne, FCC Past President Hal Bushey and FCC Executive Director Arend Kersten. Sarah is a student at Hamilton District Christian High School.